THE FIRST RIESLING WINERY IN THE WORLD

SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERG

Wine has been cultivated at Schloss Johannisberg for 1200 years, exclusively Riesling since 1720. This is the birthplace of one of the oldest and noblest grape varieties in the world. The long history of Schloss Johannisberg brims with passion, responsibility and pride allowing the production of outstanding Riesling and inspiring people to make it.

SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERG TERROIR – THE FUNDAMENT FOR OUR TOP QUALITY

Fifty hectares, facing exactly south. A quartzite hill in front of the Taunus mountains. With an inclination of 45 degrees, the mountain extends up to 182 metres above sea level and offers the grapes perfect sunshine. The Schloss Johannisberg terroir combined with our passion for top quality form the foundations for exceptional wines!

50th PARALLEL NORTH

Schloss Johannisberg’s vineyard is located right on the 50th parallel north. The large differences between temperatures during the day and at night are particularly beneficial for promoting the aromatic and taste components of the grapes.

BARRELS FROM SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERG

Our own forest with three hundred hectares lies to the north of Schloss Johannisberg. The wood from the oaks native to the area is used as a raw material to produce the wooden barrels that we use in our wine production. The natural texture of the wood, its structure and ingredients influence the character and quality of our top Riesling.

BIBLIOTHECA SUBTERRANEA

In the heart of the underground palace cellar is the famous treasury of Schloss Johannisberg – the ‘Bibliotheca Subterranea’. About 25,000 precious wines are stored in the 900-year-old abbey cellar. This cellar has ideal conditions for our valuable wines to mature over centuries. The oldest is from 1748.

NEWSLETTER

Enjoy exclusive information about Schloss Johannisberg.

Get insights into the world of wine and information about special offers, important news and events.

DAS ERSTE RIESLING WEINGUT DER WELT

SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERG

Seit 1200 Jahren wird auf Schloss Johannisberg Wein angebaut, seit 1720 ausschließlich Riesling. Hier ist die Wiege einer der ältesten und edelsten Rebsorten der Welt. Aus der langen Geschichte Schloss Johannisbergs entspringen Leidenschaft, Verantwortung und Stolz, einen herausragenden Riesling zu erzeugen und die Menschen dafür zu begeistern.

SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERGER TERROIR – GRUNDLAGE UNSERER SPITZENQUALITÄT

50 Hektar groß, exakt nach Süden ausgerichtet. Ein dem Taunusmassiv vorgelagerter Quarzit-Hügel. Mit einer Neigung von 45 Grad erstreckt sich der Berg hinauf auf 182 Meter ü. d. M. und bietet den Trauben eine perfekte Sonneneinstrahlung. Schloss Johannisberger Terroir in Verbindung mit unserer Leidenschaft für Spitzenqualität ist Basis außergewöhnlicher Weine!

50. BREITENGRAD

Mitten durch den Weinberg von Schloss Johannisberg verläuft der 50. Breitengrad. Er steht für die ideale geographische Lage für den Riesling. Durch die großen Unterschiede zwischen Tag- und Nachttemperatur werden besonders die aromatischen und geschmacklichen Komponenten der Riesling-Trauben ausgebildet.

FÄSSER AUS SCHLOSS JOHANNISBERGER EICHE

Nördlich von Johannisberg erstreckt sich der etwa 300 Hektar große Schlosswald. Das Holz der hier heimischen Eichen dient als Ausgangsmaterial für die Herstellung von den Weinfässern, die bei uns zur Weinherstellung verwendet werden. Die natürliche Beschaffenheit des Holzes, seine Struktur und Inhaltsstoffe fördern Charakter und Qualität unseres Spitzenrieslings.

BIBLIOTHECA SUBTERRANEA

Im Herzen des unterirdischen Schlosskellers befindet sich die berühmte Schatzkammer von Schloss Johannisberg – die ‘Bibliotheca Subterranea‘. Im 900 Jahre alten Abteikeller lagern mehr als 25.000 kostbare Weine. Hier herrschen optimale Bedingungen, um unsere wertvollen Weine über Jahrhunderte reifen zu lassen. Der älteste Wein stammt aus dem Jahr 1748.

NEWSLETTER

Kommen Sie in den Genuss exklusiver Informationen rund um Schloss Johannisberg.
Erhalten Sie Einblicke in die Welt des Weines und Informationen zu speziellen Angeboten, wichtigen Neuigkeiten und Veranstaltungen.